A lesson learnt in humility

One thing I’ve noticed about myself is that, when the creative bug begins to bite, a subtle attitude shift begins to happen.

Before I start creating, like if I’m in a rut and I can’t motivate myself, I am humble by default. Without feeling like I’ve produced something worthwhile with my time, my self worth is lessened. On the upside, while I’m humble I’m also a great listener. In this mode, my ability to learn is greatly enhanced by my open mind.

However once I begin to climb out of the rut, and start to create and see results, a bit of arrogance sets in with this renewed sense of confidence: if my work is criticised or questioned, my ability to take on the thoughts of others or consider alternate points-of-view is impaired. While not every idea suggested to me is going to be great, fundamentally I am limiting the potential for what my creation can become: without input from others, my creation can’t possibly evolve beyond a certain point.

Instead I need to learn from the weaker side of my personality and focus on staying humble, all the time.

A man wrapped up in himself makes a very small bundle.  ~Benjamin Franklin

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

